Love Everyone, man…


Like the header on the blog implies, every one is welcome here and all are safe. I don’t care what walk of life you come from or how far down the path you have come, you are my brother or sister. It doesn’t matter your race, age, gender, religion, sexual orientation, or whatever other tag Society can place on you to make you feel different, here in the hippie world we are all the same and are all equals.

It took me some time to understand that. Before getting in touch with the real me, the person I always wanted to be, I believed in a different style of equality, and it’s the same one society seems to encourage. Equal, but separate. Equal, until I don’t agree with you. And that is not the way to be, peeps. We have to look at everyone with open eyes. No preconceived notions, no judgement of character, no dislike of lifestyle or beliefs. As Elvis Costello once quoted, “What’s so funny about peace, love, and understanding?” The answer to that is….nothing.

We are all brothers and sisters, and until we learn to understand that, there will never be unity among the people. Here in America, as we approach election time especially, I have seen the worst behaviors coming out of people. Ugly, ugly behaviors, man. People screaming to close borders and deport everyone who is not here legally. Hateful rhetoric and  disrespect to anyone who is not on their “side”. But I’m here to tell you my nationality is not American, but Human. And all the earth is on loan to humanity. No matter your spiritual belief, this isn’t ours, but the earth is merely on loan while we’re here. We spend so much time keeping people out, that we let no one in. And that’s a sad place to be. There should be no sides here, no lines drawn in the sand, politically or otherwise. I know there’s some who don’t agree with me, in fact there’s a huge majority that doesn’t, but all I see are these memes in the social media designed to divide and alienate people. Anti Mexican, anti Muslim, anti Christian, anti breast feeding even. Society is so busy hating, love is getting pushed so far into the background that it’s barely recognizable. 

It grieves me that our world is a “too” kind of place. What I mean by that, is modern culture tries to convince us we are too fat, too thin, too liberal, too conservative, too Christian, too worldly, too sexual, too prudish, too young, too old. Labels and words designed to make someone feel bad about themselves. It reminds me of something I once heard in my youth: love is beautiful, but the world is ugly. It doesn’t have to be that way, though. We just need to reset our minds, and that will reset our hearts. There is nothing wrong about loving everyone. In fact, there’s everything right about it. I saw a pro marijuana sign the other day that read: If we all had a bong, we’d all get along. While i don’t quite agree the whole world should get high, I do believe we should all try to get along. Back in my day, if you shared a bong or joint, you were instantly a brother or sister. We can have that same effect and unity by sharing love. Stop looking down on people, that’s all I’m saying. People can change their way of thinking. People can go against what society tells them. We don’t have to be driven pack mules here. We can be wild horses.

Well, if you’ve made it this far I salute you and give you my virtual hug. Starting this post, I only wanted to say that I welcome everyone. I wanted to set the vibe to attract the tribe, but I felt there were larger things to say here. I don’t want to alienate myself from anyone by giving myself a label, but if I have to, I’d say I’m more neo hippie than anything. Makes sense since I was a child in the original hippie movement of the 60’s, but if you can get past that label with all its pre conceived notions, then perhaps there is hope for unity after all. Only in removing what society has taught us, can we truly be ourselves and love our brothers and sisters of the world. Peace to you, say no to hate. Above all, be groovy. You’re safe here.

One thought on “Love Everyone, man…

  1. Reblogged this on Paul Writes and commented:

    Before I started working on “Paul Writes” again a couple months back, I was doing a Hippie kind of blog to try and promote the lofty idea of loving everyone. I can’t decide if I want to continue with that blog, so I thought I’d guest post it here to see if anyone is interested in this kind of thing. Love you guys!

Leave a Reply

